“Boys Trail Girls In Reading; Can Fart Jokes Help?”

23 Jul

We know that the headline (from an actual article earlier this week) is controversial; we’re glad it grabbed your attention.  But now we want to know-how many farting noises will you put up with to have your boys grab a book instead of the remote?

Reluctant readers have turned the reading switch ON with the help of our friends Greg, Brian, Ook, Dan, and Ryan.* Granted, these may not be the studies greatest literary characters ever put down on paper, but right now, some parents are hoping “grossology” will help close the 10% gender reading gap (yes, have shown it to be this much) between the sexes.  So we ask the question to you all, “Boys trail girls in reading; can fart jokes help?”

We here at Book Clubs march by the drum of get ’em reading, get ’em learning.  Reading for pleasure and encouraging children to choose their own books that they can’t wait to read…well, that’s the first step in a lifelong love of reading.  And, at the end of the day, I for one will embrace the fart jokes.  Will you?

* Can you can name all of the titles of the works our friends have appeared in?

7 Responses to ““Boys Trail Girls In Reading; Can Fart Jokes Help?””

  1. Lori July 23, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    I am all a bout just getting them to read. I have a 10-year daughter who loves to read. Howevr, a few years ago, I purchased Walter the Farting Dog for her. It was a hit with her. C’mon farting is pretty funny!!!

    • Jen A. July 23, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

      Lori, I always liked the gross books too 🙂 I grew up with two brothers, so I got my share of titles like these! I hope she grows up to love reading as much as I do.

  2. Kaymi July 23, 2010 at 10:13 am #

    I have been a first grade teacher for 11 years and am a huge proponent of “gross” books! They truly engage ALL readers. Some of the favorites in my classroom include the “Dirty Bertie” books and “Walter the Farting Dog.” In addition my students LOVE all of the Pigeon books by Mo Willems!
    p.s. I am highly entertained by this literature as well and I am a girl!

    • Jen A. July 23, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

      Kaymi, looks like Tracy has a book suggestion for your class too! Thanks for helping to keep our first graders reading 🙂

  3. Tracy July 23, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    “The Day My Butt Went Psycho” was the book that totally turned my son on to reading! I’m completely fine with fart books!

    • Shaelynn July 23, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

      I teach 5th and what watched many boys learn to love reading with this series. Nit my thing…”butt” let’s just get them reading!

  4. Karen Greenberg July 23, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I say kids should read whatever interests them. If it’s fart jokes, great. My only request to my daughters when they read these types of books is not to tell me word for word about the plot. I don’t care for those books, but I DO care about growing life-long readers. The important thing is that the children are reading!

Leave a Reply

