Summer of Hunger Games!

23 Jul


It is the Summer of Hunger Games. Mockingjay comes out August 24th… and we intend to be ready. In anticipation of its release, the Book Talk team is going to relive the experience of Hunger Games and Catching Fire and we want you to join us!

Our plan of attack: Three books over four weeks – are you up to the challenge? Start reading tomorrow, July 24th, swing by for a give-away July 26th,  and check back July 30th to participate in our weekly discussion posts. We will be reading as if for the first time- so no worries, Hunger Games newbies, each post will be spoiler free (trust us, we’ll be checking). Reading ahead and can’t wait for the next discussion? Head over to Twitter and use #SoHG to get in on the action.

The Summer of Hunger Games will culminate at midnight on August 24th with a Mockingjay release party post and discussion.

CALENDAR:

July 26th: First Give-Away!!
July 30th: Hunger Games: Parts I & II
August 6th: Hunger Games: Part III
August 13th: Catching Fire: Parts I & II
August 20th: Catching Fire: Part III
August 24th: Mockingjay

In addition to talking about the books, get ready for some awesome prizes (exclusive Book Clubs Mockingjay pin, Whaaaaaat!) and book give-aways in the days to come.

We hope you join us for the Summer of Hunger Games… and may the odds be ever in your favor.

28 Responses to “Summer of Hunger Games!”

  1. Emily, Figment July 23, 2010 at 12:31 pm #

    This sounds fantastic! As if I needed more reasons to be amped for the 24th.

  2. J-Lynn July 23, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    I am so excited!

  3. Jackeline July 23, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    I’m up for it! I was going to read the series anyway, but this seems more exciting since I personally do not know anyone who reads the Hunger Games. (Bummer! They don’t know what they’re missing.)

    • June Morgan (chorkie) July 23, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

      I’ve already read both books. Just waiting for Mockingjay to be released.

      How can I get a Mockingjay pin. I understand some people who ordered Hunger Games or Catching Fire got one. I didn’t.

      Cannot wait.
      june

      • Jackeline July 23, 2010 at 2:37 pm #

        Oh lord! I meant that I was going to read the series yet again, before MJ came out. I cannot wait either. I’m literally counting the days… 🙂

      • Jen A. July 23, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

        Hi June, thanks for the comment. The Mockingjay Pin was available if you pre-ordered Mockingjay in the Scholastic Book Clubs Tab Club in May and June of this year. If you pre-ordered Mockingjay through Book Clubs and did not receive your pin, please email me at jabelson@scholastic.com; I’ll try to help as best as I can.

        The pin will also be available in this September’s Tab and Teen Readers’ Club so be on the lookout for that and be sure to check back for the give-aways!

        Thanks again for posting, and we can’t wait to read the series with you on the blog.

    • Preeti July 23, 2010 at 2:47 pm #

      no one who reads the Hunger Games?! Well, you’ll get plenty of great conversation here! (We really just want to geek out and talk about the books for the next month :D)

  4. tnestler July 23, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    I just recently read the first two (like in the last month) but am MORE than willing to read both again!! I’ll start Hunger Games tomorrow & probably finish it then, too!!

  5. silent_twilight July 23, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    *puts aside my tbr-books*
    I’m up for it. A Summer of Hunger Games…that sounds great *sighs*

  6. Sue Crean July 23, 2010 at 5:09 pm #

    Great idea!! Loved the first two and would love to discuss them.

  7. Terry July 23, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    LOOOOVE the Hunger Games series, So Excited for the 24th!!! Can’t wait to discuss.

    Hurry MoCkingJay!!

  8. Celine July 24, 2010 at 2:10 am #

    This is so awesome! Thank you Scholastic! I have read both of the books but I am going to start reading them again. I cannot wait for the release of Mockingjay. Happy Hunger Games to everyone!

  9. Sonia E. July 24, 2010 at 9:53 am #

    I ordered two books of Mockingjay to share with my students. Can’t wait to read it when it is released.

    • K July 24, 2010 at 8:19 pm #

      Awesome! I read them over and over again so this is no problem.

  10. Lisa_lovesbooks July 24, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    This is so cool 😉

  11. Felicia July 25, 2010 at 6:17 pm #

    This sounds like loads of fun! I’ve already read the first two of the trilogy & I am anticipating the week of August 24 because I ordered it with the Scholastic book order so I might have to wait after the release :[ & I already have the two pins of the trilogy. One came from Scholastic and the other, Borders. I’m still excited nonetheless ! 🙂

  12. Jackeline July 26, 2010 at 10:29 am #

    I just wanted to let you all know that Mockingjay’s book trailer came out. TODAY!

    OMG!

  13. Carolyn July 26, 2010 at 11:11 am #

    Looking forward to the discussion!

  14. Kelly Mulvehill July 26, 2010 at 12:11 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay Pin. My 11 and 10 year olds would love the series : )

  15. Ron July 26, 2010 at 3:31 pm #

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

  16. Lisa_lovesbooks July 27, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    I am so sad I called boarders and they have no idea how I can get a mockingjay pin. My catching fire pin I got from boarders was stolen and I’ve been so sad. I do not know if I will ever hold that sweet little pin in my hands. The odds are not with me so far.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mockingjay.net – HungerGames.org | Hunger Games | Catching Fire | Mockingjay | The Hunger Games Movie | » Blog Archive » Scholastic Announces ‘Summer of Hunger Games’ With Prizes - July 23, 2010

    […] Scholastic via HG Examiner You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site. […]

  2. Contest Alert – Hunger Games | Eve's Fan Garden - July 23, 2010

    […] Scholastic’s Summer of Hunger Games […]

  3. Scholastic launches "Summer of Hunger Games!" - July 23, 2010

    […] the release of Mockingjay, Scholastic is starting a “Summer of Hunger Games” with weekly book discussions and prizes, including mockingjay pins and books. […]

  4. My Hunger Games - Summer of Books | Hunger Games - July 23, 2010

    […] get fans ready their new blog team at Book Talk are reliving the experience of The Hunger Games and Catching […]

  5. Twitted by HGTfansite - July 24, 2010

    […] This post was Twitted by HGTfansite […]

  6. Summer of Hunger Games! | The Hunger Games Trilogy Fansite - July 24, 2010

    […] http://booktalk.scholastic.com AKPC_IDS += "663,";Popularity: unranked [?] Posted in Books « The Hunger Games […]

  7. Summer of Hunger Games: Mockingjay Pin Give-Away! | The Hunger Games Trilogy Fansite - July 26, 2010

    […] Scholastic via HG Examiner AKPC_IDS += "701,";Popularity: 1% [?] Posted in Contest Tags: Mockingjay Pin […]

Leave a Reply

