SoHG: We’ve Arrived!

20 Aug


We’re finally here, just four short days away from the release of Mockingjay – can you believe it?? Are you guys ready to talk about everything? Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and even throw in your Mockingjay theories! This time, everything goes. However, never forget, on the right hand side of this post you’ll see Book Talk’s own WORDS WE LIVE BY – so please, keep it friendly and fun.

As you know, we have another give-away! Two Mockingjay Pins, just in time for Mockingjay’s release! As with the first round, to enter be sure to comment on this post with the phrase “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!” in the body of your comment. You must be over the age of 18 and a valid U.S. resident, click here for complete rules. You will have until tonight August 20th, 2010 at 9pm EST to enter. We will draw two (2) names at random and announce the winners on Monday, August 23rd. Please only submit the phrase one time, and leave the rest of your comments for good ole’ fashioned book talk.

Click through to get started!

So, the revolution has begun! We don’t want to lead the conversation – but here are some things that we can’t wait to see explained: District 13 (what???), what happened to Cinna (he better be okay!), how is Peeta going to get back to Katniss? (Of course, Gale is already there…)

What do you guys think???

52 Responses to “SoHG: We’ve Arrived!”

  1. Zoe August 20, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

  2. Kristina August 20, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  3. Catherine F. August 20, 2010 at 12:29 pm #

    I cannot wait for all of those questions mentioned but really just to see how this all plays out. Catching Fire pretty much blew my mind with just the games being set up like a clock and then communicating with bread! It was just too much and all so good! How that book ended just made ms wish I never read it until Monday so I wouldn’t have to wait!!

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  4. Tony Eggleton August 20, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  5. Amy Walker August 20, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  6. T August 20, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    I want a book clubs mockingjay pin!

    and I’m DYING to know what happens – I fear the worst for Cinna, though my theory for them treating Peeta well (as a hostage) may hold for Cinna as well???

    ugh – time go faster already!

  7. Flo August 20, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

    • Rachel August 20, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

      ooh! Mockingjay pin, please!

  8. Sam August 20, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  9. Raineski18 August 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!” I am rereading the first two books and I almost forgot how awesome they are! Can’t WAIT for Mockingjay!!!

  10. Melissa August 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

    I’m wondering who is going to die in the final book…Peeta or Gale? I think one of them is a goner.

  11. Mindy J August 20, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  12. Carrie August 20, 2010 at 1:30 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  13. Jodi August 20, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    I am absolutely looking forward to Mockingjay. I was blown away by the two books this summer and have passed them on to other readers who have become big fans as well. I fear there will be more death before (hopefully) a happy ending for Katniss and everyone!
    I want a Mockingjay Pin!

  14. Natali August 20, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  15. Lauren August 20, 2010 at 2:26 pm #

    I only put the first two books down because eventually I had to eat, sleep, and think about fabulous dresses/wilderness survival/kissing, and I can’t wait to see what the third book has in store! Glad to see so many other people are so excited about this series.

    And, hey, I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  16. Marilyn August 20, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    How long ago did the uprising begin? Was there communication between the districts, or with District 13? Who provided that communication? The Hunger Game victors were able to travel at times, and perhaps, among those victors, the word was spread. Might that be the reason the Hunger Game Victors were chosen for the games again? And what about Haymitch (don’t have book with me for spelling, sorry)? Perhaps he is not the drunken fool everyone thought he was (falling off the stage, etc.) Maybe all was planned. Who knew the secret room in the building? Who knew exactly what message to send Katniss at the right time? Who “arranged” the group to support Katniss during the 2nd games? Haymitch may be more important to the uprising than first believed.

    I think only one of the boys will survive. (I think it will be Peeta, but there are those who disagree with me.)

    Really looking forward to the next book. I kept talking about the first two, so even my 32 year old son has read them and given them to his girlfriend. He brought up points I hadn’t even thought of.

    Oh, yes. I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay Pin.

  17. G. Donald Cribbs August 20, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

    • Alice August 20, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

      I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

      I just finished Catching Fire yesterday and my head is still reeling from all the craziness. SO EXCITED for Mockingjay. HOW WILL IT END?

  18. Cathy August 20, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    I was clued into these books early in the spring, and ordered them to read this summer. Finished the second one last week, and was so disappointed to find out I had to wait two weeks to get the next book! I can’t wait to see what happens – I’m so worried for Peeta and Cinna.

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  19. Cindy August 20, 2010 at 3:17 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  20. Nicholas Ha August 20, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  21. Christine Palmer August 20, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

    I am very concerned for Peeta and Cinna. Will Peeta still be hiself after he has been tortured? (If he’s been tortured).

  22. Natalie August 20, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    I want to know why the president’s breath smells like blood! ugh! I also love Haymich’s character and can’t wait to see how big of a role that he plays in the rebellion. I also can’t wait to see what district 13 is capable of…I mean, they have a helicopter, what else do they have access to?

    oh and I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin! PLEASE. 🙂

  23. Leigh August 20, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. Nicholas Ha August 20, 2010 at 4:06 pm #

    The last giveaways mentioned something about being able to purchase the pin from “this September’s Tab and Teen Readers’ Book Club”. What the heck is that? I did a Google search and came up with no relevant results except for this Book Talk blog time and again.

    Can someone please explain to me how we’re supposed to be able to purchase the pin if we don’t win one from the giveaways?

    • Preeti August 23, 2010 at 9:57 am #

      Hey Nicholas! Tab and Teen Readers’ Book Club is one of the Book Clubs offered through Scholastic for teachers of older students. If your classroom isn’t getting the offer, you can suggest it to the teacher.

  25. G. Donald Cribbs August 20, 2010 at 4:20 pm #

    I’m wondering how the Avox girl works into the plot, why Plutarch Heavensbee is part of the revolution, and whether Cinna is, too. I think Peeta will be strong for Katniss, but I hope she realizes she should pick him once the revolution succeeds (if it does). Gale had plenty of time to decide to pursue Katniss and didn’t. Therefore, he had his chance. And, Peeta has loved her his whole life. His love is genuine, and he didn’t hide it. He risked it all.

  26. G. Donald Cribbs August 20, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    p.s. I hope there’s a map in the third book, or that Suzanne Collins sells a map later for those who want one. Hint, hint!

    I know the remaining four districts that have yet to be identified are important to the plot, and that’s why we haven’t had a map yet.

  27. Megan August 20, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  28. Marie O. August 20, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  29. Theresa Okpei August 20, 2010 at 4:36 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  30. Phacelia August 20, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

    I’m a cold person. I believe they (Katniss and Co.) will arrive in District Thirteen, expecting a nuclear utopia with soldiers, hovercraft, etc. Instead they will find ruins of District Thirteen, who had apparently been wiped out by some mutant plague until it burned itself out. Katniss’s and Gale’s dad had been hiding in D 13 but they had died too. The only survivors of District Thirteen were a handful of scientists and politicians. So Katniss orchestrates the rebellion with a fleet of hovercraft and rallies up the districts, who overthrow the Capitol, kill Snow, and take over Panem. Unfortunately during this time at least one of our favorite characters (Peeta, Gale, Cinna, Haymitch, Effie, Prim, Mrs. Everdeen) gets killed. Anyway. Katniss recovers and leads the new nation.

    I am that cruel.

  31. lulilut August 20, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    I can barely wait to find out how all this will be resolved and for everyone to have their own happily ever after. So many plotlines to bring together and have answered but I have faith in Suzanne Collins, she has already brought us an amazing adventure.

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

  32. Carolyn August 20, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    I want a book clubs mockingjay pin!

    Carolyn

  33. KrysteyBelle August 20, 2010 at 5:51 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  34. Tobias Palmer August 20, 2010 at 6:33 pm #

    I want a Book Club’s Mockingjay pin!

  35. Kristen August 20, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  36. Shelb August 20, 2010 at 6:46 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay Pin!

  37. Hannah S. August 20, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay Pin!!!!

  38. Cynthia C. August 20, 2010 at 8:24 pm #

    The thing I’m both least and most interested in is who Katniss ends up with. I want to know how this issue is resolved. The fact of which one to like always just brought Katniss more heartache. Either way, if any, she goes I’ll be happy with.

    I really really wonder if Gale is going to help Katniss rescue Peeta. He probably will 😉

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay Pin!”

  39. Eleana August 20, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  40. deborah mccoy August 20, 2010 at 8:45 pm #

    i want a bookclub mockingjay pin

  41. Christi August 20, 2010 at 8:46 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  42. Infernalheart August 20, 2010 at 8:58 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  43. Nicole L August 21, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

    I can’t wait for Aug 24!!!

  44. Zoe G August 21, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

  45. Mikey August 21, 2010 at 2:18 pm #

    “i want a Book Clubs Mocking jay pin!” please!

  46. Kat Leyden August 21, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

    Come on! Last chance. *crosses fingers*

    I will be heartbroken if Cinna dies. I’m trying not to over think what might happen, because ever time I do that in a series I’m always disappointed when the book finally comes out. I just have to not think about it for a few more days.

  47. Becky August 21, 2010 at 3:00 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

  48. J-Lynn August 21, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    I am so excited for the release! I just wish Tuesday was a day off of work!

    “I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!”

  49. nikki August 26, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I want a Book Clubs Mockingjay pin!

    I bet Gale rescues Peeta and dies in the process.

Leave a Reply

