Muggle-less Muggle

1 Oct

OK, so we all know that today Oprah is going to interview J.K. Roooooooooooooooooooowling! (Sorry, I couldn’t resist an Oprah impersonation). This, of course, is bringing a lot of buzz, especially with the second-to-last movie coming out in November. So I am taking this opportunity to confess something…I…oh man, this is hard to say…I have not read Harry Potter (bows head in shame).

Gasp! What! Can it be?!?! How is this possible!?!? Oh, the HUMANITY!!!!

Yes, yes. I can hear the collective doubt from everyone. You may be wondering the following questions: How did he even get hired at Scholastic? How does he get up in the morning? Why, WHY?!?!

I will answer these questions with a simple answer: It’s on my to-read pile and has been for a few years, but I have so many other books to read for work that I just never get to them. However, I would like to point out that I did read the first book a few years back, so I am not completely in the dark.

Outrage, anger, sadness, sympathy—these may be some of the feelings you are having while reading this right now and some of my coworkers are right there with you.

It’s a burden I have carried all these years and today—today!—I am proclaiming my commitment to HP. I am going to read all seven books before the movie comes out in November. I will need an outlet to discuss all things HP, and I would love for you all to share in this experience with me. Reread them, or if you are like me and have been hiding this secret and want to say to the world, “Yes, I have not read Harry Potter, but I am going to now!”, here’s your chance.

I can’t be the only one, right? I am, aren’t I. No, it can’t be! I am a Muggle-less Muggle. There MUST be others out there. Join me!

I am starting the first book today and will be giving my thoughts next week as one of my coworkers will interview me about the first two books. And who knows, maybe we’ll have some giveaways in the future (hint, hint!).

Happy Reading!

9 Responses to “Muggle-less Muggle”

  1. Arianna October 1, 2010 at 11:55 am #

    Haha, I know what you mean. I hadn’t read Harry Potter until the end of this summer either, but I was so happy when I did. ^^

    If I were you, I’d move the books as far up your to-read pile as is possible, because they really are great.

  2. Heather Russell October 1, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

    I saw a grown man reading them and rolled my eyes right about when the third book came out. I decided to start reading them though because he kept proclaiming how great they were I finally caved. He was right they really really are. I have not only read them I read them twice, then I read them one more time to my then 8 year old daughter (a chapter a night excluding sabbath night or game night) and she fell in lvoe with them too. She now reads them all on her own over and over. The charm is lost from movies 3-7 although the struggle is clearly depicted. There is a much deeper set of emotions the books depict between all three main characters you only get from reading the books. You will see what I mean 😉

  3. Theresa Heath October 1, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Huh *gasp* shock , horror lol

    You have to read them now … they’re awesome, truly wonderfully written and you’ve missed out far to long.

    When the final book came out we brought three copies, one for me, one for my husband and one for our daughter because none of us wanted to wait on the other to finish before we were able to read it. We then set about doing nothing but read for the next day LOL then took two of the books into HPB’s seeing as we only needed to keep one copy here LOL

  4. Sandy Jacobs October 1, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    It’s not so bad. I barely read them for the first time last year. I hope that you enjoy them!!

  5. Beth October 1, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    You are not the only Muggle-less person in the world. I’ve worked up to reading them 3 or 4 times over the years (bits and pieces here and there, never finishing.) But fantasy/magic has never been my thing and I just can’t get through them. I will be interested in reading your reactions – maybe I’ll finally be inspired to read them completely!

  6. Jacquie October 3, 2010 at 6:22 am #

    The first step for help is admitting the problem. Your blog was so funny!

  7. Elizabeth October 3, 2010 at 9:08 pm #

    I was sure I wouldn’t like them. Really sure. Really, really sure. Last year, my second grader read them all and begged me to read them. I told him that I was sure I wouldn’t like them. Then this summer my fourth grader read the first one and was HOOKED. Since she and I have similar tastes in books, I gave in….and I was WRONG. I LOVED them and couldn’t stop reading. My daughter and I read all seven books this summer. So enjoy!

  8. Cassie October 13, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    I’ve tried the books; I’ve tried the audio book versions (rave reviews about the reader); and I still have not read any of the HP books. They just aren’t my cup of tea! I’ve enjoyed the first few movies, but the whole HP phenomenon was simply something I could not get in to! (my husband is making that “tsk” sound at me as he reads the series for the bazillionth time)

  9. KR December 30, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    So did you read them yet? I just reread them with my 8 yr old who was reading them for the first time. Now she’s interested in reading The Hobbit, which she wasn’t before. It’s magic.

Leave a Reply

