A Little Less Muggle, a Little More Wizard

21 Oct

I would be lying a little if I did not say I’m loving these books. I keep imagining my 12-year-old self reading these and they would completely blow my mind. I said this in the last post, but I will say it again: The world that J.K. Rowling has created is just astonishing and continues to be my favorite aspect of these novels.

Now on to The Prisoner of Azkaban and The Goblet of Fire: For me, The Prisoner of Azkaban is my favorite thus far. It’s the first time we meet the Dementors, which, for me, are one of the most interesting creations of Rowling in the whole series. The third book also has one of my favorite teachers thus far, the only Dark Arts professor to not (at least so far) try to kill Harry: Professor Lupin. For me, this book is really when the series begins to take off in the plot and makes it more than just books about wizards and magic. I’m not saying that the first two are not great, but they are a bit lighter and have more of a comedic side to them. The Prisoner of Azkaban really starts to immerse the reader in the issues of the world in which Harry and other wizards live, and that is why it is my favorite so far.

I could go on and on, but I don’t want to (a) ruin it for those other Muggle-less Muggles like me who have yet to read these books and (b) this post could go on forever if I don’t stop myself now. Check out the video below to find out what broom I recently acquired. At this point, I feel that I am becoming a little less Muggle and a little more wizard.


Want to relive the magic with me or read it for the first time like I am? You can find all the Harry Potter books in November’s Holiday Gift catalog.

One Response to “A Little Less Muggle, a Little More Wizard”

  1. T October 21, 2010 at 4:35 pm #

    I think this is one of those series I’d love to re-read from that newbie perspective because that was such a wonderful experience… yeah, I can re-read them (and have), but you can never go back to being oblivious to Diagon Alley and discovering it for the first time!

Leave a Reply

