Book Clubs Nostalgia

25 Oct

Arrow Catalog, 1978

Whenever I meet people and tell them where I work, I always say (proudly!), “I work for Scholastic Book Clubs!” If they don’t immediately remember what it is, I inform them that Book Clubs is the division where we work with teachers across America, give them the flyers to pass out to the students, the students go home and talk about the books on the flyers with their parents, place their orders, and then…the iconic book boxes arrive in classrooms!

Each time I go through this explanation, it’s rare that I don’t receive a smile, a “Oh, my goodness, I remember those!”, or a “I used to circle almost every book in the flyers and beg my parents to buy them all for me!”

AWESOME Tote Bag!

Yes, we’ve enabled online ordering for teachers and parents. Yes, we’re on social media (and loving it!). But the heart of our business—partnering with teachers and parents to find the books that kids can’t wait to read—remains.

And we love walking down memory lane. Why, I even carry this AWESOME bag around NYC that features some of our older catalogs!

What do you remember about Book Clubs?

Want to walk down memory lane with a few others? Click on the links below for some other nostalgic Book Clubs bloggers.

SeeSaw Catalog, 1986

 

My new favorite: http://bit.ly/cqoDl5

And some others:

3 Responses to “Book Clubs Nostalgia”

  1. Megan October 25, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    I remember always ordering 3 books so I could get the free poster that was invariably a kitten a puppy or maybe a raccoon for variety!

  2. shelly sip October 25, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    I used to get the posters. My walls were covered in animals.

  3. Nancy Osterkamp October 26, 2010 at 11:10 pm #

    Absolutely loved getting the order forms!! I loved reading and couldn’t wait for the next one each month! I have quite a collection of Scholastic books ranging over to many years to admit!!

Leave a Reply

