Literary Halloween: When Imagination Meets Reality

28 Oct

 

A Bad Case of the Stripes

Halloween is a time for goblins, witches, and black cats—but it’s also a time for Harry, Matilda, (Fancy) Nancy, Katniss, and the Frizz.

Do you and your kids or students plan to participate? Let us know which characters you think will be popular this year, and which ones you hope to see. (Pictures of your favorite costumes or innovators are welcome…they’ll help provide inspiration!)

Personally, I’m thinking I’ll be “Mouse” from If You Give a Mouse a Cookie…that way, I can carry around chocolate cookies (my favorite!) all night long.

What about my fellow Book Talkers?

Trevor: I wouldn’t dress up as this character, but it would be cool to see someone go as Ms. Frizzle.

Preeti:  I’m going to be Paddington Bear!

 

Remember, share your pictures with us to let us know how your students/kids are dressing up. Feel free to submit them after the big day!  

18 Responses to “Literary Halloween: When Imagination Meets Reality”

  1. Michelle October 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    I am going as Thing 1 and co-teacher is Thing 2 and Cat in the Hat.

    • Jen A. October 28, 2010 at 12:45 pm #

      Michelle, that is an amazing idea! Do share after the big day!

  2. AKR October 28, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    My 6 year old son is going as Captain Underpants. I don’t know how to add a picture to your post, but I would love to show you his costume.

    • Jen A. October 28, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

      Hi AKR,

      If you could please upload them to our Facebook Page OR send them to clubs.socialmedia@scholastic.com, we’d really appreciate it! We can’t wait to see the photos!

      • Nicole Kirsch October 28, 2010 at 1:56 pm #

        My almost 3 year old, Mikey, is dressing up as Farmer Bill & is wearing Tractor Mac (his favorite Book series). His one year brother is dressing up as a cow to go along with the theme 😉

  3. AKR October 28, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    I emailed a picture to you!

  4. Belle October 28, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    I’m being Katniss from Hunger Games!

    • Jen A. October 29, 2010 at 9:12 am #

      We can’t wait to see pictures! Great idea.

  5. Nancy O. October 28, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    I’m going to be Junie B. Boss of Lunch!!

  6. Emily Harper October 31, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    My little girl went as Pinkalicious….can you can Pink, Pink, Pink!!!

  7. Jenteacher October 31, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    Pippi Longstocking!

  8. Suzanne C. October 31, 2010 at 9:51 am #

    I wish I’d thought of this one – a friend’s little boy is going as Harold and the Purple Crayon.

  9. Aimee October 31, 2010 at 10:50 am #

    One year me and my co teacher went as Skippy John Jones and Mama June Bug 🙂

  10. Lisa November 1, 2010 at 12:09 am #

    I emailed a picture of our Fancy Nancy to you.

  11. OA November 1, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    My 5 year old went as Junie B. Jones. I’ll email the picture.

    • Jen A. November 1, 2010 at 10:07 am #

      Thanks all SO MUCH for emailing or posting the photos. You are all so creative!

Leave a Reply

