Book Clubs Sends Narnia Fan on a Magical Trip!

8 Dec

A few months ago, we gushed about how much we love The Chronicles of Narnia series—and how excited we were to send one lucky Book Club reader to the world premiere of the new Narnia movie! Well, the big day has come and gone, and it was every bit as magical as the enchanted land itself.

In the Arrow October catalog, we asked kids to answer the trivia question, “Prince Caspian’s ship is named the Dawn Treader. What creature is it shaped like?” Ten-year-old Lauren Moss provided the correct answer—a dragon. And on November 30 (her 11th birthday!), she and her father received an all-expenses paid trip from her Orange County, California, home to London, England, to attend the royal world premiere of The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader. In Lauren’s words: “It was so fun! I think my favorite part of the whole trip was meeting the cast and then following the red carpet in the snow into the theater. Once we were seated, it was amazing that we could look up and see the Queen of England in the balcony above us! I love to read and I especially like The Chronicles of Narnia. I’m pretty sure I’ll never have another birthday like this one!”

Contest Winner Lauren Moss & Cast Members (from left to right) Will Poulter, Skandar Keynes, Georgie Henley.

I agree; the event was amazing. The actors were welcoming and kind. The movie was fun and energetic (with very impressive 3-D effects). But as I fell asleep that night, I couldn’t help thinking “book vs. movie.” How much was left out of the film? What was added? What changed? Surely I couldn’t rely on my memory (I read the series when I was a kid—over 20 years ago!). So my first day back in the New York office, I got my hands on the original novel by C.S. Lewis and eagerly waited for the sea painting to sweep me away….

So the voyage follows a different order; so Eustace breathes fire for a little while longer in the movie. Almost all of the magic, all of the warmth, and all of the adventure makes it to the big screen. To be honest, it was just so fun noticing (OK, catching!) the differences, I would recommend this activity to anyone and everyone. READ IT, SEE IT, READ IT AGAIN!!

This post was brought to you by guest blogger Carmela, who feels a special kinship to the Brits after her exciting trip to London!

Scholastic Reps, Carmela and Ann Marie with Lauren on the red carpet!

Look for The Voyage of the Dawn Treader and the complete Chronicles of Narnia series in December and January Book Clubs!

Movie opens in the U.S. on December 10, 2010.

2 Responses to “Book Clubs Sends Narnia Fan on a Magical Trip!”

  1. ballgirl13 December 8, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    We having been working on it every night at bedtime – should be done by Friday’s opening day! Next up; Gulliver’s Travels! 🙂

    • Erin December 8, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

      So fun! Can’t wait to hear what you think about the book vs. the movie.

Leave a Reply

